Wyoming Trucking Schools and Programs

The Bureau of Labor Statistics reported that the average truck driving careers in Wyoming earn drivers an annual salary of about $43,270. This is a high salary in comparison to the average for truckers across the nation. You may also be able to enjoy a higher salary depending on the industry that you work in.

The Bureau also reports an estimated growth of 21 percent to take place over the next ten years for trucking careers in the U.S. This means you can look forward to a lot of job stability. With so many opportunities afforded to you, you can find one that is personalized towards your needs and wants.

Many of the industries vary, which means it’s a good idea to see how much they vary. What you haul, what your hours are and what you are paid can be different, so you will want to learn about the benefits of each industry prior to making a decision about your career path.

Have you ever wanted to be a commercial driver in the state of Wyoming? Knowing how to obtain, renew and keep your CDL license will provide that opportunity for you. Here are some things to keep in mind to successfully get your license.

Federal Guidelines

There are some national guidelines that drivers in Wyoming must adhere to. These rules are:

    • You Must Be 21 Years Of Age To Drive In Other States
    • Drivers Must Surrender Any Other License To Drive That They Currently Have
    • Background Checks Are Done On All Drivers Who Want To Transport Hazardous Materials

Applying For Your Wyoming License

You must present a birth certificate as well as a valid social security number to apply for your license. The next step is to pass a written exam as well as a road test. There are no training standards prior to taking your test. Drivers must also pass a medical exam and pay a $25 fee to get the license. Passing of the CDLIS and NDR tests are required before a license is granted.

Renewal Guidelines In Wyoming

Your CDL license is valid for four years. Most drivers will get a renewal notice within 120 days of the license expiring. Drivers who are still under 21 will not get a notice until 90 days before their license expires. Drivers in Wyoming have the option of renewing in person or by mail. However, you are only allowed to renew by mail once every eight years. Therefore, you must apply in person at least every other renewal cycle.

Applying For And Renewing Hazardous Materials Endorsement

Drivers may not renew their hazardous materials endorsement by mail. Drivers must submit to fingerprinting. Two forms of ID must be shown at the time of application or renewal. A full background check will be done to ensure that the driver is not a safety threat. Anyone who has been convicted of a felony, is mentally unstable or is no longer a resident of the United States will not be granted this endorsement.

Make sure that you have all of your paperwork and tests completed before applying for your license. Remember to keep your license on you at all times and always keep your address updated. Failure to do so could lead to loss of your license.

SAGE Truck Driving School
2368 Oil Drive
Casper, WY 82604

SAGE Truck Driving School
1707 E. Fox Farm Road
Cheyenne, WY 82007

Mountain West CDS at LCCC
1400 E. College Dr.
Cheyenne, WY 82007