Kansas Trucking Schools and Programs
You’ll find many truck driving careers in Kansas that you can take advantage of. Some of the top employers include those in the agricultural industry as well as the petroleum industry. Each industry has something unique to offer.
Kansas drivers who wish to obtain a Commercial Driver’s License must be at least 18 years old to drive within the state. For interstate drivers, the minimum age is 21. Drivers must not have an OUI while operating a commercial vehicle within the last 24 months. The applicant must also possess a valid driver’s license and must have a completed medical report verifying fitness to drive a commercial vehicle.
The written portion of the testing can be done at any of 11 Commercial Driver’s License locations. These offices are open Tuesday-Friday, and no appointment is needed for the written testing. Driving skills testing does require an appointment, however. It is always a good idea to call ahead before visiting one of the testing sites, which are scattered throughout the state.
The applicant needs to bring several documents. These include the medical report form, current valid driver’s license, and Social Security number proof. It is a good idea to also bring proof of citizenship and residency.
There is a $13 fee to receive a CDL permit. The license is $28 which includes an $8 photo fee. Endorsements are an additional $10 each.
After successful completion of the vision screen, written general knowledge and any specific endorsement tests, a Commercial Instruction Permit will be issued which is valid for 90 days. There is no waiting period to schedule the driving tests. It is highly recommended that the applicant practice under the sponsorship of a driver licensed in the same class as the applicant prior to taking the driving tests.
CDL applicants who wish to drive a school or other bus must take both the passenger transport and School Bus test. Special endorsements for air brakes, tankers, combinations, doubles/triples and hazardous materials also require a separate written test. A hazardous materials endorsement also requires a background screen and fingerprinting under the Patriot Act.
The driving skills test has three parts. The driver will be tested on pre-trip inspection knowledge, basic control of the vehicle, and driving on the road. The vehicle used for testing can’t have the components marked or labeled.
A Kansas CDL is valid for four years. The CDL must be renewed in person.
- Kansas Class A CDL: For truck drivers operating vehicles with a combined GVWR of more than 26,000 pounds.
- Kansas Class B CDL: For truck drivers operating a single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 pounds or more.
- Kansas Class C CDL: For operators driving vehicles that don’t meet the definition of Class A or Class B, but is either designed to transport 16 or more passengers. This certification also includes permissions for operating vehicles that transport hazardous materials.
At Kansas CDL testing facilities, you will need to pass a comprehensive check of your skills under professional supervision. The Kansas CDL test is made up of three parts including:
- Pre-trip inspection
- Basic operating skills test
- Basic driving skills test
You will be tested on your knowledge of the vehicle and your overall driving skills. You must pass each section of testing in order to move on to the next section.
Ft Scott Community College Truck Driver Training
2108 Horton St.
Fort Scott, KS 66701
Kansas City CC Truck Driving School
1401 Fairfax Trafficway
Kansas City, KS 66115
Southwest Kansas Tech
P. O. Box 1599
Liberal, KS 67905
Stroud Truck Driving Academy
109 Roseport Rd.
Elwood, KS 66024
U. S. Truck Driving School
7150 Kaw Dr.
Kansas City, KS 66111
Wichita Area Votech Truck Driver Training
4141 N. Seneca St.
Wichita, KS 67204